District 14          
Veterans of Foreign Wars Texas
parade horses



 Patriot's Pen

 2021 - 2022

Each year more than 1,000 students in grades 6-8 enter the VFW’s Patriot’s Pen youth essay contest across Texas. Nation wide each year more than 132,000 students in grades 6-8 enter the VFW’s Patriot’s Pen youth essay contest. The national first-place winner wins $5,000 and an all-expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C. The first-place winner from each state competes for national awards totaling $54,500, with each first-place state winner receiving a minimum of $500 at the national level. 

The essay contest encourages young minds to examine America’s history, along with their own experiences in modern American society, by drafting a 300- to 400-word essay, expressing their views based on a patriotic theme chosen by the VFW Commander-in-Chief. Want to apply? Read the rules and eligibility requirements and download the complete entry form before submitting your entry to your local VFW Post

The 2021-2022 theme is: 
How Can I Be a Good American?


The Patriot's Pen program is open to students in grades 6-8 (on the Oct 31 deadline), who are enrolled in a public, private or parochial school or home study program in the United States and its territories.

 All entries must be submitted to your VFW Post competition committee. If you have difficulty identifying a sponsoring post in your area, contact the Patriot's Pen Chairman at the Department Office.

Please send application to your VFW Post / VFW Auxiliary for submissions.

National Winner for 2020 - 2021

About the 2020-2021 winner ... Wyatt Perkins, a sixth grade home school student from Mayville, North Dakota, was named the 2020-2021 Patriot's Pen first place winner. His essay on the theme, "What is Patriotism to Me?" won him a $5,000 award. Wyatt was sponsored by VFW Post 4221 in Portland, North Dakota. Watch as Wyatt delivered his winning essay, during the VFW's first-ever virtual Parade of Winners streamed live on Facebook, or see the complete list of 2021 national winners.